Events & Call For EntriesNews

Awief opens nominations for its 2020 awards

The Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (Awief) is calling for nominations for the Awief Awards 2020.

The awards, which are to be held in December, aim to honour female founders and entrepreneurs designed to recognise and celebrate their contribution to the growth of Africa’s economy.

In a statement last week, the organisation said this year a new award category, the Energy Entrepreneur Award, has been created to recognise excellence in the power, oil and gas, and renewable energy sector.

Nominations for the Awief Awards 2020 close on 30 June

Said Aweif founder and CEO Irene Ochem: “We have an obligation, now more than ever, to recognise and showcase those women founders and entrepreneurs who are building solutions and driving change in the African economy”.

Past AWIEF Awards winners have included: Stella Okolie (Nigeria), Wendy Luhabe (South Africa), Jennifer Riria (Kenya), Soraya da Piedade (Angola); Temie Giwa-Tubosun (Nigeria); Caroline Pomeyie (Ghana).

Nominations can be submitted for eight categories. Nominees can either be nominated by a third party or be self-nominated.

Nominations close on 30 June at 23:59 GMT.

Nichole Manhire

Is the media and brand manager at GFA News. She works very closely with editors and podcasters that contribute to telling the African business success story. For marketing and advertising send Nichole an email:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button